Words that have no meaning

I just read a book review so badly written that, though it seemed to be favorable, it may be doing the book reviewed a disservice in the end.  (I won’t point it out here for fear it would stop you from reading the book it was about.)  Where do you draw the line between writing beautifully and writing economically?  I find my own writing style tends toward the minimalistic.  I want to add more picturesque language but I certainly don’t want to go off the deep end.  I remember reading Winter Study by Nevada Barr.  She’s pretty straight forward and tells a fast reading story but there were a couple comparisons that were so lovely I had to stop a moment to savor them before reading on.   I admire that.

Leave a Reply

