An embarrassment of riches…

This year has been amazing for me, personally and professionally.  Back in June I got to hear Tim O’Brien (The Things They Carried) speak at The Big Read conference in Minnesota.  He was speaking to librarians but the things he said really spoke to me as a writer.  The thing I remember most was how he talked about mining your fears for writing material.  I’ve remembered and thought about that a lot since.  I think it will prove very useful.

Now, I get to hear Joyce Carol Oates speak at the NYLA conference in mid-October.  I hope she’ll talk about her writing process as much as anything.  To cap it off, I expect to get to hear Joseph Bruchac (a personal hero) speak at our Big Read at the end of the month in Corning, NY.  Hopefully I’ll get to meet him too!

What more could an aspiring writer ask for?

2 Comments

  1. Sandi Hilton said,

    October 1, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    Oh, an aspiring writer could ask for riches, but you are right — meeting people you admire is right up there! Happy for you. Will also hear Joseph with you. Love your photo for the day………it was inspiring. 🙂 And the site is neat.

    • melorajohnson said,

      October 1, 2009 at 9:29 pm

      Well, sure. But since the money flows in slowly and steadily, I’ll take my perks in the form of inspiration.


Leave a Reply

